Sunday, May 4, 2008

EU, NATO must integrate all Balkan states and Ukraine

EU, NATO must integrate all
Central European summit pledges for further EU enlargement

OHRID, Macedonia:
The leaders of 19 Central and southeastern European countries agreed Saturday that European Union integration will not be complete unless all Western Balkan states are included...
The Central European Initiative was formed in 1989 to strengthen ties between the region and the EU. Its 18 members are Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.

Ten are EU members, three are official EU candidates and five have not joined the union.

No comments: